Gojira announce new album Fortitude, release opener Born For One Thing

It follows the release of the first single Another World last year.


Image: Suzi Pratt / Getty

When you purchase through affiliate links on Guitar.com, you may contribute to our site through commissions. Learn more

Gojira have announced a new album, entitled Fortitude, and released a new single entitled Born For One Thing.

The announcement follows the release of what was at the time a non-album single Another World, which will be appearing on Fortitude. The new album will arrive on 30 April.

Fortitude will be the band’s first LP since 2016’s Magma, and has been being teased by the band since late 2019.

In a statement about the new release’s themes, guitarist and singer Joe Duplantier said: “We have to practice detaching ourselves from everything, beginning with actual things. Own less possessions, and give what you don’t need away, because one day we’ll have to let everything go, and if we don’t, we’ll just become ghosts stuck between dimensions.”

You can see the video for Born For One Thing below, featuring Duplantier’s new signature Charvel.

Fortitude can be preordered here, and you can see its full tracklist below.

1. Born for One Thing
2. Amazonia
3. Another World
4. Hold On!
5. New Found
6. Fortitude
7. The Chant
8. Sphinx
9. Into the Storm
10. The Trails
11. Grind

For more music news, click here.

Related Artists

Related Tags


The world’s leading authority and resource for all things guitar.

© 2024 Guitar.com is part of NME Networks.