IDLES release new song Grounds, announce third LP Ultra Mono

Following on from Brutalism and Joy As An Act Of Resistance.

Image: Roberto Ricciuti / Getty

When you purchase through affiliate links on Guitar.com, you may contribute to our site through commissions. Learn more

IDLES have officially released the studio version of their new song Grounds, which first saw its debut during their December tour. Alongside the single release, the band has announced their third full-length record, entitled Ultra Mono. Listen to the single above.

The release was teased by a cryptic video, which has had its meaning clarified thanks to the announcement. As you can see below, the teaser depicted a large balloon heading towards a naked man in slow-motion, but it cut short before the moment of impact.

The album art completes the story, depicting the moment of impact with a painting:

IDLES Ultra Mono Album Art
The album art for Ultra Mono by IDLES.

The band also revealed they will conduct three live performances, streamed “from an iconic studio” two on 29 August and one on 30 August. The event is ticketed, purchasable here.

On an interview with BBC 6 Music, lead singer Joe Talbot also revealed the tracklist (below) for the new record, which is out 25 September on Partisan Records. Preorder here.

Ultra Mono tracklist:

  1. War
  2. Grounds
  3. Mr. Motivator
  4. Anxiety
  5. Kill Them With Kindness
  6. Model Village
  7. Ne Touche Pas Moi
  8. Carcinogenic
  9. Reigns
  10. The Lover
  11. A Hymn
  12. Danke

For more music news, click here.

Related Artists

Related Tags


The world’s leading authority and resource for all things guitar.

© 2024 Guitar.com is part of NME Networks.